Neugrad: Take your time.
Feel alive. Get a new perspective.

Neugrad Eifel

Far from the world, but right at home. Freedom at your fingertips. We have all felt that feeling. A desire for the simple and the natural. For a sense of connection. For those moments of contrast that open up new perspectives. That is exactly why we created Neugrad. Find out more about the how, the where, and the people involved.

Architecture

Architecture

Where puristic design meets a sensory experience.

The cabins are designed to open up new perspectives through moments of contrast. They are stylish but spacious. Linear, yet cosy. Light and airy while also offering privacy. With discreet furniture and modern technology. All under one roof with a diagonal 23.5 degree angle – the unmistakable trademark of the Neugrad cabins.

7 cabins seamlessly integrated into the region

High-quality cabins made from ecological materials, carefully arranged on an unspoiled, car-free property. Check in to an unforgettable holiday experience in harmony with nature.

Neugrad site map
Sustainability

Sustainability

Live in harmony with nature.

Ecological building materials, a low-emission heating system, efficient insulation, no harmful paints or varnishes, and only natural surfaces, mostly oil-treated wood and concrete: The sustainable construction of the cabins and the unspoiled nature of the car-free property help to accentuate the authentic experience in Neugrad. Rainwater is returned to the natural water cycle and there is almost no surface sealing. Anti-reflective glass façades store thermal energy and reduce the incidence of bird strikes, while artificial roosts have been installed for the bats that are so important to the environment. The biggest highlight of all: Subtle exterior lighting means there is minimal light pollution, making the views of the night sky over the Eifel Dark Sky Park even more impressive.

Eifel National Park

Eifel National Park

In the “Wild West” of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Neugrad enjoys a unique location: Near to Germany’s western border, in close proximity to the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg, and immediately adjacent to the 110 square kilometres of the Eifel National Park. Applying the motto “Let nature be nature”, national park status means that flora and fauna are allowed to develop without human intervention. As a result, thousands of endangered plant and animal species are beginning to spread again. The extensive forests, river valleys, plateaus and wooded pastures are home to wildlife such as black storks, eagle owls, tawny owls, ravens and beavers. The National Park is bedecked by yellow broom blossom in the early summer, while the southern section is even home to some species of orchid. While hiking, you will encounter established ash, chestnut and wild cherry trees. In short, Neugrad is the perfect destination for lovers of woods, water and wilderness.

To Eifel National Park

www.nationalpark-eifel.de/en

Vogelsang

History

Revitalising an old location.

A holiday destination at a conspicuous location with an inglorious history? Can it really be done? We asked ourselves the same question. Our response: Not only can it be done, but we want to be the ones to make it happen.

Originally a fortress serving as a training facility for future Nazi leaders and later used by Belgium and the UN as a military training area for a good 70 years, Neugrad lies at the edge of a site with a turbulent past. This history makes the present-day site all the more contrasting and refreshing. Around 20 years ago, the troops were withdrawn and the area was designated as a national park. Ever since, the territory has been gradually reclaimed by the wilderness of nature, while the buildings are now used by a wide range of charitable and other organisations. New ideas and initiatives are sprouting up all over the place. Take a look for yourself and be surprised and moved by everything that is going on.

Although Neugrad itself is outside the site and away from all the action, we are proud to be playing our part in the revitalisation of the location along with our guests.

To History

vogelsang-ip.de/en

Directions

Directions and site map

Far away and yet so near.

Neugrad can be reached by car in less than an hour from Aachen, Cologne and Bonn. Speaking of cars, Neugrad is located in the heart of the countryside, where life moves at a slower pace. This also means public transportation is less frequent.

Directions by car
Because of its remote location, driving is the best way to reach Neugrad, especially if you want to explore the surrounding area during your stay. Neugrad itself is car-free, but parking spaces are available at the edge of the grounds and an electric charging station is 200 metres away.

Directions without car
Take the train to Kall station (Cologne-Trier Regional Express line). The National Park shuttle bus SB82 will take you to the Neugrad site >> Timetables

Address
Neugrad, Vogelsang 67, 53937 Schleiden-Morsbach, Germany. In the heart of the Eifel National Park.

Neugrad Eifel

The people behind neugrad

At home in the Eifel

Neugrad in the Eifel region is more than just a resort. It is intended to provide the space and the calm you need to find new ideas, new perspectives and new inspiration. After all, that is how Neugrad itself originated: almost out of the blue.

Frederik Eichen

A true nature boy who knows the Eifel region like the back of his hand, Frederik is a mover and shaker who values real and immediate experiences and loves to share them with others. Together with his university friend Frank, he quickly realised that Neugrad could be the ideal springboard for enabling people to enjoy the beauty of the region.

Frank Zweigner

Real estate, architecture and design – this is Frank’s home turf. As a visionary and an enthusiast, he loves thinking about topics like lifestyles and ways of shaping living space. This includes Neugrad, whose philosophy was substantially defined by Frank’s ideas. This means his presence can always be felt in Neugrad even when he is not there in person.

Neugrad: Zeit lassen.
Leben spüren. Neu denken

Neugrad Eifel

Fernab der Welt und doch ganz zuhause. Weite erleben und gleichzeitig Nähe fühlen. Wir kennen diese Sehnsucht. Nach dem Einfachen und Natürlichen. Nach Gefühlen der Verbundenheit. Nach Momenten, die Gegensätzliches zusammenbringen und Neues entstehen lassen. Genau dafür haben wir Neugrad geschaffen. Wie, wo und wer – das erfahren Sie hier

Architektur

Architektur

Puristisch in der Form,
sinnlich in der Wirkung.

Gegensätze zusammenbringen und Neues entstehen lassen – das spiegelt sich auch im Design der Cabins wider. Sie sind schlicht und doch grosszügig gestaltet. Wirken gradlinig und behaglich zugleich. Bieten Offenheit und Rückzugsmöglichkeit in einem. Die Möblierung ist zurückhaltend, die Technik modern. Alles vereint unter einem Dach mit diagonalem Dachfirst von 23,5 NEUGRAD – dem unverkennbaren Markenzeichen unserer Cabins.

7 Cabins in die Region eingebettet

Hochwertige Cabins aus ökologischen Baustoffen, achtsam gruppiert auf einem autofreien, naturbelassenen Grundstück. Zum Einchecken in ein unvergessliches Ferienerlebnis im Einklang mit der Natur.

Neugrad Lageplan
Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltigkeit

Leben im Einklang
mit der Natur

Ökologische Baustoffe, emissionsarmes Heizungssystem, effiziente Dämmstoffe, keine schädlichen Lacke und Farben, ausschließlich natürliche Oberflächen, zumeist aus Holz und Beton, mit Ölen versehen: Die nachhaltige Bauweise der Cabins sowie die naturbelassene Gestaltung des autofreien Grundstücks unterstützen das Naturerlebnis im Neugrad. Das Niederschlagswasser wird dem natürlichen Wasserkreislauf zugeführt, Flächenversiegelungen gibt es so gut wie keine. Entspiegelte Glasfassaden speichern Wärmeenergie und vermeiden Vogelschlag, für die ökologisch wichtigen Fledermäuse wurden Brutstätten geschaffen. Und das besondere Highlight: minimierte Lichtverschmutzung dank dezenter Außenbeleuchtung. Sie lässt den prächtigen Sternenhimmel im Sternenpark Eifel umso schöner erstrahlen.

Nationalpark

Nationalpark Eifel

Im «Wilden Westen»
Nordrhein-Westfalens.

Die Lage des Neugrad ist einmalig: An der Westgrenze Deutschlands – in nächster Nähe zu den Niederlanden, Belgien und Luxemburg – und unmittelbar angrenzend an den Nationalpark Eifel von 110 Quadratkilometern Grösse. Unter dem Motto „Natur Natur sein lassen“, werden hier Flora und Fauna ihren ureigenen Gesetzen überlassen. Das erlaubt tausenden von bedrohten Tier und Pflanzenarten, sich wieder auszubreiten. Die weitläufigen Wälder, Bachtäler, Hochflächen und Waldweiden bieten u.a. Schwarzstorch, Uhu, Waldkauz, Kolkrabe und Biber ein Zuhause. Im Frühsommer vergolden gelb strahlende Ginsterblüten den Nationalpark, im Südbereich sind sogar Orchideenarten heimisch. Im Herbst schallt die Hirschbrunft kilometerweit über Wiesen, Täler und Wälnder. Auf Wanderungen begegnen Sie alten Eschen, Kastanien und Wildkirschen. Wer also Wald, Wasser und Wildnis liebt, kommt im Neugrad ganz auf seine Rechnung.

Zum Nationalpark Eifel

www.nationalpark-eifel.de

Vogelsang

Historie

Den Ort gemeinsam neu
beleben.

Eine Feriendestination, die an eine unübersehbare Anlage mit unrühmlicher Geschichte angrenzt? Können wir das? Diese Frage haben wir uns ebenfalls gestellt. Unsere Antwort: Wir können es nicht nur. Wir wollen es.

Erst Ausbildungsstätte und Ordensburg für NS-Führungskräfte, später rund 70 Jahre lang Truppenübungsgelände für belgische und UNO-Truppen: Neugrad liegt am Rande einer Anlage mit bewegter Vergangenheit. Umso kontrastreicher und erfrischender zeigt sich die Gegenwart: Seit dem Truppenabzug und der Umwandlung in einen Nationalpark vor rund 20 Jahren holt sich die wilde Natur ihren Raum zurück, während das überbaute Gelände heute von einer bunten Vielfalt an gemeinnützigen und anderen Organisationen genutzt wird. An allen Ecken und Enden wächst Neues, spriessen Initiativen, fruchten Ideen. Auch davon können Sie sich bei einem Spaziergang übers Gelände überraschen und berühren lassen.

Neugrad selbst liegt zwar ausserhalb der Anlage und abseits des Geschehens. Dennoch: Wir freuen uns, gemeinsam mit unseren Gästen unseren Teil zur Neubelebung dieses Orts beizutragen.

Zur Geschichte

vogelsang-ip.de

Anreise

Anreise und Lageplan

Fernab und doch so nah.

Von Aachen, Köln und Bonn aus ist Neugrad in weniger als einer Autostunde erreichbar. Apropos Auto: Neugrad liegt mitten in der unberührten Natur, wo das Leben weniger getaktet ist. Das trifft übrigens auch auf die Fahrpläne der öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel zu.

Anreise mit Auto
Ist wegen der abgeschiedenen Lage von Vorteil – insbesondere, wenn Sie bei Ihrem Aufenthalt auch die umliegende Gegend erkunden möchten. Neugrad selbst ist autofrei, Parkplätze sind direkt am Rand der autofreien Anlage verfügbar, eine E-Ladestation findet sich in 200 Meter Entfernung.

Anreise ohne Auto
Mit der Bahn bis Bahnhof Kall (Linie Regionalexpress RE 22 Köln-Trier). Von dort mit
Nationalpark-Shuttle SB82 zum Grundstücksgelände.

Adresse
Neugrad, 53937 Schleiden-Morsbach, Vogelsang 67. Im Zentrum des
Nationalparks Eifel.

Neugrad Eifel

Die Macher

Zuhause in der Eifel

Neugrad in der Eifel ist mehr als ein Erholungsort. Es soll jenen offenen Raum und die Stille bieten, die neue Ideen, Perspektiven und Inspirationen brauchen, um landen zu können. Denn genau so ist Neugrad selbst entstanden: Aus dem Nichts heraus 7 Cabins in die Region eingebettet.

Frederik Eichen

Ein ausgesprochener Naturbursche, der die Eifel-Gegend kennt wie seine Westentasche. Ein Macher, der das Unmittelbare und Echte schätzt und gerne mit anderen teilt. Entsprechend schnell erkannte er mit seinem Studienfreund Frank, dass Neugrad ein spezieller Ort werden könnte, um Interessierte an der Schönheit dieser Gegend teilhaben zu lassen.

Frank Zweigner

Immobilien, Architektur und Design – hier ist Frank zuhause. Als Visionär und Enthusiast lässt er seine Gedanken gerne um Themen wie Lebensstile und Wohnformate kreisen. So auch im Neugrad: die Philosophie wurde maßgeblich von ihm geprägt. Auf diese Art ist er im Neugrad immer irgendwie präsent – auch wenn er grad nicht vor Ort ist.